Is Oat Grass Gluten-Free?

Is Oat Grass Gluten-Free?

Navigating a gluten-free diet is essential for individuals with celiac disease, an autoimmune disorder in which ingesting gluten damages the small intestine. Gluten in wheat, barley, and rye poses significant health risks for those affected. This necessity to avoid gluten has led to confusion about various food sources, especially plants like oats and their derivatives, such as oat grass.

Oat Grain VS. Oat Grass: What's the Difference?

In their grain form, oats are commonly processed into oat flour, groats, and various oat products like porridge and cold cereals. However, oat grass, the young shoot of the oat plant, and its derivatives, like oat grass powder, are distinct from the oat grain. While oat grain may contain gluten due to cross-contamination with gluten-containing grains, oat grass, harvested before the plant matures to produce grain, is naturally gluten-free.

Is Oat Grass Gluten-Free?

Yes, oat grass, in its pure form, is gluten-free. The protein that triggers celiac disease is found in the grains of barley, rye and wheat, not in the grasses themselves. This makes oat grass a safe option for those on a gluten-free diet, providing a rich source of dietary fiber, essential vitamins, and minerals like Vitamin D, all without the gluten found in grain flour.

However, the risk of cross-contamination during processing exists. Individuals with gluten intolerance or celiac disease must read labels carefully and choose only certified gluten-free products free from the risk of cross-contamination, whether in foods, drinks, or supplements.

RELATED BLOG: Is Barley Grass Gluten-Free?

How to Choose the Best Multivitamin for a Gluten-Free Diet?

When selecting a gluten-free supplement, especially those with ingredients like barley and oat grass, it's crucial to find products with gluten-free certification. This label confirms that the product has undergone testing and is confirmed to be completely free of gluten. Also, look for supplements that have been third-party tested and are free from additives, fillers and artificial components. Trusted multivitamin brands, such as Root'd adhere to rigorous standards to prevent gluten cross-contamination and guarantee the safety of their supplements. 

How Root'd Ensures Gluten-Free Nutrition

Best Multivitamin for a Gluten-Free Diet

At Root'd, we eliminate the confusion and concern of selecting a gluten-free supplement. As a reputable brand dedicated to purity and safety, our MULTIs are tested by an ISO-certified lab, Eurofins, to ensure they meet the highest quality standards. Each batch of Root'd is tested for gluten, among other things, ensuring that the final product is absolutely safe for individuals with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. You can always check out our test results on our transparency pages.

Meet His

Meet Hers

Meet Prenatal

We know how important trust is when it comes to managing dietary restrictions. That's why we ensure our products are completely free from gluten and other contaminants so you can focus on what really matters—your health and wellness.

With Root'd, you can nourish your body with confidence, knowing that you're getting all the benefits of our nutrient-rich formulation without worrying about any side effects (just side benefits!)

Ready to explore a safe and nutritious gluten-free option? Use code GLUTENFREE for 15% off + free shipping on your first order. Shop now!

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.